Daily Archives: March 13, 2011

Iditarod Update

So, the Iditarod is still on.

It was interesting at the starting line… I always assumed the dogs were not happy or suffering. So, I was very surprised when we got to the starting line and all you could hear was the dogs squealing – of course I thought in pain. But then I saw them, and each dog was being held back by a trainer and all were whining and wagging tails trying to run. It was surreal because why would they want to run? Why!

Any way, so, the race is still on.  Sadly, there are rumors that the dogs have kennel cough – but there are vets at every checkpoint and it appears the dogs are healthy. Thus far a few participants have scratched (dropped out).  One of Zoya Denure’s dogs collapsed in a harness. 😦

She quickly performed mouth to snout resusitation, and believed her dog had died – so put him in her sled and returned to the closest checkpoint when she looked down and realized he was alive.  When they got to the check point she was told that the status on her dogs health was unknown. She decided to scratch, stating “”These dogs are like my life. My life is built around these animals. We love them all. It doesn’t matter if we’ve had them one year or 10. I’m responsible for him. I put him on the trail; I have the responsibility of getting him down the trail safely. No way was I going to dump him off and continue with my dogs.”

Read more: http://www.adn.com/2011/03/09/1746672/musher-scratches-after-resuscitating.html#ixzz1GRaHkJgp

In the meantime, numerous other people have scratched, and some upsets came early.  Lance Mackey, the Lance Armstrong of mushing, is not at his normal speed.  Right now, John Baker is in the lead.

It’s cold on the trail, about oh, I’ll guess -50. In Anchorage, it’s crystal clear and another gorgeous sunny day.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized