Daily Archives: March 24, 2011

Some interesting legal developments here in Alaska

Alaska, some call it the last frontier, some the great land, today I call it the Land of Laws that make you say “w.t.f.”

On the front page of the local paper are some new bills, and ideas flying from the mouths of some seriously questionable persons.

First, a bill passed a state house committee today in Alaska to ban Islamic Law in Alaska Courts.  I didn’t know we were practicing Sharia law here in Alaska. If there was a question on Sharia Law on the bar exam (administered in a Methodist Church), I must have missed it.

Second, the governor here nominated some guy to sit on the Alaska judicial council – a council that nominates state judges.  That guy would vote to make premarital sex illegal…

Paskvan: “What about premarital affairs — should that be a crime?”

Haase: “I think that would be up to the voters certainly. If it came before (the state) as a vote, I probably would vote for it … I can see where it would be a matter for the state to be involved with because of the spread of disease and the likelihood that it would cause violence. I can see legitimate reasons to push that as a crime.”

….. *crickets*…… awkward.  Disease? How about using protection, or teaching safe sex? Violence? Well, we’ve already got rid of Sharia law – so punishment for premarital sex is already eliminated. Right?
 
If that second one passes, I will refer to Alaska as “the Last State I lived in.”

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized